automotive : tires Reviews - 12/24/2018

automotive : tires Reviews - 12/24/2018

Security Chain Company SZ335 Shur Grip Super Z Passenger Car Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2

Category

automotive, tires

Price

$47.48

SKU:

B000BR8UAE

Product Rating

4.0 / 5

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Shur Grip Z class S cable chains
  • Fast and easy installation with included rubber tighteners
  • Better all-around traction performance than conventional cable or link chain
  • For use on most passenger vehicles
  • Offers a smooth ride

A little loose for Camry tires. By:
The chains arrived on time but are a little big for my tires. I’m trying to figure out how to make them tighter.
give them a ten By:
fit perfect on a 2014 Buick Verano. outstanding quality
Definitely a good buy! By:
Worked like promised, I got them the day before a snow storm so I did not get to practice putting them on. 1st side about 20 minutes and 2nd about 6 minutes. I drove about 30 miles between snow and pavement when I took them off they still looked like new. I put them back in the box the same way they were in originally and they fit with a little stuffing.
Great emergency traction solution By:
I use these SuperZ cable chains on my front wheel drive minivan to get me out of a jam when my 4 studded snow tires can't make the grade. The last 1/2 mile of my drive home is up a dirt road with several sections as steep as 14% grade. With this steepness and a couple of inches of very wet soft snow I sit helpless as my car turns into a sled and slides back down the hill. These chains are awesome! I put them on and I drive right up my steep road like there was no snow on it. The chains are very easy to put on and take off (watch the video on Amazon's website), the plastic box they come in makes it easy to store in the trunk (keep a pair of work gloves nearby). I would not use these for long distances or high speeds, but they are a great emergency traction solution. I would buy a pair of these for every car I get.
Great on ice and packed snow so far By:
Used these both days this weekend downhill on icy 4x4 roads in my rav4 where there were multiple others in ditches. Tried to help everyone out since I was easily zipping around with these on. Even the trucks with all terrains were surprised haha. They were super easy to put on (once you get it down, it literally takes maybe 1 minute per chain to get on). They saved my butt on this one particularly icy section that no one could get by without flying into the ditch. One fell off as I was trying to tow one vehicle out of the ditch uphill, but that was an extreme situation with a ton of extra weight pulling on my vehicle. The only gripe is that it seems the rubber connector could be slightly tighter, but they stayed on great up to 25mph so far under normal conditions. Haven't tried em at higher speeds yet. Thoroughly happy with em.
looks like they will work well By:
Fit well, looks like they will work well. Hope I don't ever have to use them
Five Stars By:
Love these style chains over the others, easier to install and have very good grip on the ice.
Traction for snow that is fresh By:
Great for snow but nothing works for icy roads except common sense.
Five Stars By:
as advertised
Very good quality By:
Very good quality

Security Chain Company ZT729 Super Z LT Light Truck and SUV Tire Traction Chain - Set of 2

Category

automotive, tires

Price

$94.49

SKU:

B000BR8UAO

Product Rating

4.3 / 5

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Fastest, easiest installation of any traction product
  • Built-in rubber tensioner means there is no need to stop and retighten after installation
  • Better all-around traction performance than conventional tire chains or cables
  • Greater durability than conventional tire chains or cables
  • Better compatibility with anti-lock brakes, traction control, all-wheel drive (AWD) and other electronically monitored control systems
  • Meets S.A.E. Class “S” clearance requirements or vehicles with limited clearance
  • Low potential for damage to vehicle body and mechanical components, even when abused.Fitment can be affected by age of tire, tire manufacturer and/or tread type

Five Stars By:
Easy install
Ease of Use is Fantastic By:
I drive a lot in the mountains during the winter, and chains/snow tires are a must have for my rear wheel drive SUV. I purchased a pair of chains a few years ago out of haste and they were a pain. Getting them on was a nightmare and after a few drives the chains snapped and started tearing up my wheel well. Did my homework this time around and have been very pleased. Incredibly easy to take on and off, even in the deep snow my car had accumulated after a day of skiing. Will still need to test the longevity of them, but as long as I stay at 30 MPH and take good care of them I think they will last a while. Watch the video and do a couple practice runs to figure out the easiest way to get them on and off if you can, chains are always a bit of a hassle, but these ones are the best I've used by far.
Need some snow or mud to try By:
Have not tried them yet but im sure another showing in nc will be coming. Update how it rides and how easy to install when it does.
ZT735 Super Z - 2019 Honda Ridgeline By:
Great price, fast delivery and fit my 2019 Honda Ridgeline.
Easy to assemble, worth it By:
Bought these a year ago. Never needed them until today. Got stuck in driveway after 10" snow. Dug out, installed chains, went to work. Perfect!!!
Highly recommended product! Bring on the snow!! By:
Great product!! Highly recommended.
Great item for a great price By:
We used this on our Jeep Liberty while going up to Yosemite national park(in December) - did great on! No issues beside the obvious loudness of it while driving but kept us safe for a reasonable price!
works Good By:
used on a Nissan Murano. worked fine but you can still get stuck if snow is very deep.
WORKED GREAT By:
Bought these for our RDX and they did the job - we crossed the Sierra Nevada mountains twice without having to use them. GREAT INSURANCE buy!
Verified to fit 275/65/-18, running on 2010 Tacoma. By:
Fight perfect on 2010 Tacoma running 275/65-18.

Security Chain Company SZ143 Super Z6 Cable Tire Chain for Passenger Cars, Pickups, and SUVs - Set of 2

Category

automotive, tires

Price

$70.51

SKU:

B000HZFDPU

Product Rating

4.0 / 5

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Designed for cars, pickups, and SUVs with very limited operating clearance around the drive tires
  • Fast easy installation with no need to move the vehicle
  • Designed-in rubber tightener means there is no need to stop and retighten after installation
  • Better all-around traction performance than conventional tire chains or cables
  • Better compatibility with anti-lock brakes, traction control, all-wheel drive, and other electronically monitored control systems
  • please refer Application Guide under Technical Specification for fitment details.

Buy two sets, steer stop and go safely. By:
I use them on all four tires on my old RWD toyota pickup and now I can steer and accelerate safely on icy or snowy roads. Easy to install for people with good mobility, not easy for elderly or people with disabilities.
nice carry bag By:
I will update after i use them! the problem with chains is the case or bag to carry them is always designed for the packaged product but you can never get them in after you use them. This bag looks big enough.
Better By:
Sturdy, dependable and easy
Saved our butts By:
Google maps took us up a road that became to narrow to turn around with a drop off on one side and a rock face on the other.Could not turn around or back down due to snow and ice.These chains saved our butts.Super easy to install and remove.Worked like charm getting us safely back down.Absolutely recommend.
Easy to install tire chains By:
I bought this for a Chrysler Pacifica Hybrid Minivan so that I can drive through the Snoqualmie Pass if ever tire chains are required. I was very pleased with how easy it was to install these chains. Normally, installing tire chains is a huge pain in the **s because you have to reach behind the tires and struggle with wrapping the chains around the tire. These chains are uniquely designed to lock and unlock in three locations so that it becomes a whole lot easier to put them on. I've used other chains before and despite this design they still feel very sturdy and safe. The included rubber strap tensioners really help with pulling the chains tight. I can't imagine how I used to use tire chains without tensioners.I can also fit a small door mat in the included chain bag so that I don't need to kneel on snow or asphalt as I install the chains.
VERY EASY TO INSTALL By:
SUPER QUICK AND EASY INSTALL
Easy to put on + work great By:
I have a second home in the mountains in western NC. They got a foot of snow a week ago that had melted down to 4-5” by the time I got there, but much of it was solid ice.Friday night I drove my family minivan without these chains as far as it would go until it was stuck, uphill, on ice. I parked, unloaded the kids and car, and left it until morning.I’ve never put chains on before but was able to get these on in about 5 minutes with minimal effort despite not having practiced before in better conditions. Once they were on I was able to drive my front wheel drive minivan uphill on what was mostly ice without any trouble.Getting them off was a little messier, mostly because I had to feel around back of the tire to find the release, but I can prevent that next time by stopping so the clips are at the 12 o’clock.All in all these are great. We only recently got the house in the mountains and don’t have a vehicle with all wheel drive and I don’t want to have to get a new car sooner than necessary for a situation that only arises a couple of times per year. These are small, easy enough to install that my wife could do it, and I plan to just leave them in the back of the van to use again next time we want to drive our front wheel drive minivan in unplowed snow/ice conditions.
easy By:
great product, easy to install and remove.
Snow Cables fit my 2009 Camry Hybrid By:
The snow cabless fit my 2009 Camry tires as advertised. The only issue was I had to carefully adjust the antilock brake cable brackets on the front struts out of the way to ensure there was adequate clearance.
Easy to put on / take off By:
About as easy to put on and take off as you could hope for.

KONIG CB-12 090 Snow chains, set of 2

Category

automotive, tires

Price

$64.69

SKU:

B009NPM0A6

Product Rating

3.9 / 5

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • 195/80-14, 205/70-14, 195/70-15, 205/65-15, 215/60-15, 225/55-15, 195/65-16, 195/60-16 (Michelin Alpin 5), 205/55-16, 215/50-16, 195/55-17, 205/50-17, 215/45-17, 235/40-17, 225/35-18
  • The simple and sturdy manual tensioning chain.
  • 12 mm inside and on-the-tread clearance.
  • Certifications: Ö-Norm 5117, UNI 11313, TÜV.

So far, so good By:
I just got these today and they look good and seem well constructed but the true test will be if or when I have to use them this winter.
Perfect fit. By:
These fit my 2007 Toyota Sienna perfectly. Tire size 215 / 65 /16.
One thing I highly recommend that I myself didnt do By:
got a chance to test these out this winter in Oregon. One thing I highly recommend that I myself didnt do, test fit them. the first time I installed them was stuck on the side of a hill trying to not get hit my traffic. After I discovered how to properly install them I had to use them a few more times. they went on with ease and provided ample traction to get me out of my situation. My rule of thumb is to grade it on whether I would recommend it to my mom, the answer is yes.
I loved having these By:
Works so well for my fiat in a storm, I loved having these. They let me get through anything.
Great product By:
Great product, easy to install.
They are super easy to put on and to take off By:
These chains saved us a lot of hustle this winter. They are super easy to put on and to take off. We did have to find a video on YouTube, though, because diagram didn’t explain the process too well. Any way, just knowing that these chains were in my car made our 2 feet of snow accumulations easily manageable even on our Priuses.
Good stuff. Easy to set up after the first ... By:
Good stuff.Easy to set up after the first time.Used it to drive my front wheel drive sedan through a northern CA blizzard, and worked perfectly!Comes with a little plastic mat to protect your knees from the snow! Nice touch.
These are by far some of the best snow chains I have ever used By:
These are by far some of the best snow chains I have ever used. They are a perfect fit for my 2017 Toyota Prius One, and they have provided superior traction in snow and ice. The installation is quick and easy -if you take the time to practice before you need to use them-! .. Anyone who has made any review about difficult installation either, has not taken the time to learn how to best apply them to their vehicle or they are just lazy. After learning how to apply them, I can get both on the wheels "in the snow", in about 5 minutes flat and it gets quicker every time. There is no flapping or banging while driving like you get from cables or loose chains that do not allow for tension adjustment. And the removal is even faster than the installation. A genius design that I hope this company continues to produce for many years to come!
Works perfectly on my 225/45-18R. Very happy By:
I got this chains for my BMW 428i, on 225/45-18R tires.The chains works great, is very easy to put it on.The only annoying part for me is to take it off, you have to spin the wheel to the same exactly position you used to put the chains on, which I believe is the same problem on many others chains out there, not a reason to not buy.
Five Stars By:
Great product! Easy to use.